Home » Blogging 101 » What I Consider to be the Beginning

What I Consider to be the Beginning

About five years ago, I told God that I wanted to do things his way. I told God that I wanted to obey him – for my choices to reflect his choices for my life. That night my life and the way that I went about it changed. I had no idea what I had just done. There was no way to predict the crazy journey that decision had dumped me on, and I was in no way prepared. Some of the biggest things I have done in my life were because I chose to be obedient. Studying abroad in China for a semester of college was one of those.

I don’t always make the right choices. Sometimes, I have no idea what God wants, especially when he is silent on a topic. I simply have to choose something. Other times, I am willfully disobedient. And as I muddle my way through the consequences, I find myself crawling back to the one I ignored, bruised and beaten, with the words “You were right” on my lips. But he always welcomes me back, no matter how many times I break his heart.

This is an essential piece of who I am and why I am. It is impossible to give you myself in a single blog post or even in a series of blog posts. However, each post is a snapshot. I will be blogging about daily life, mental musings, goals and aspirations, and anything else that brings me to type on my laptop. If that interests you, feel free to jump on in for the ride.

3 thoughts on “What I Consider to be the Beginning

  1. 95% of everything you need to know about God’s will for you life is in the bible. You might be too young to remember Burlap to Cashmere, but they have a great song with a BIBLE acronym: Basic Instructions Before Leaving Earth. So when you’re ready to willfully obey, start reading His instruction manual, and then when you’re ready for more start applying in your life the things you see there like Psalm 119:11- “I have hidden your word in my heart that I might not sin against you” Several ago I realized not only do I sometimes willfully disobey, but sometimes I sin and don’t even know it. In the”Christianese” terms we call these sins of comission, and sins of omission. This side of heaven we’re never gonna be without sin in our lives, that’s what grace is for, but we can take steps to have less sin in our lives and that is part of working out your salvation. (check out Titus 2:11-14)

    Like

Leave a Reply

