Home » Study abroad semester in China » We’re back!!

We’re back!!

We’re back!! No, I’m not back in the States yet. I still have a month here in China. Oh my gosh. I only have 4 more weeks here. Eep! Now that is an odd thought that I don’t even want to contemplate yet.

Well, got up nice and early to register for classes. Curses on the time difference between China and California. I had to get up at about 5:45 to fix my schedule so it would be set for registration at 6:00. After I got everything settled, I went back to bed for about 2 hours. That got me rested enough to start the day so I got ready and got breakfast downstairs. I packed everything up into my backpack and duffel. Yep. Even after buying everything that I did on the Trek, everything still fit in those 2 bags (and my little purse). Score.

All of us were stuffed into taxis and rushed to the airport. It took us quite a while to get there. If ANYONE in the States ever complains about traffic again…just..no. Not even. I’m pretty sure we almost died about 7 times. At least. I wasn’t paying attention to the minor almost accidents. That was the “we almost got crushed by vehicles twice the size of this taxi…We’re gonna die” incidents. But we all survived. We all made it to the airport. And we all got onto the plane on time. And that is all that matters. As Chase put it, “It was an adventure.”

The plane ride wasn’t bad, nor was the bus ride back to Xiada. Oh my goodness, the way everyone was on the bus compared to our first time making that drive from the airport to the university….nothing in common. This time, everyone was stretched out in any way comfortable, joking and totally at ease with each other. This is what happens when you stick a group of 15 people together and then have them travel around China together, experiencing the things that we did. It was kinda funny though.

When we drove onto campus, it was like…oh my gosh, you guys, we’re home! Even more so when walking back into our room. I seriously felt like I was coming home. That I am home. Xiamen is home for us. At least, in China it is. All of us have missed this place. Even better, we are going to get to have an entire weekend to rest and destress (and prepare!) before classes start back up on Monday. I’m going to be taking Chinese 102 in the morning, and EPR in the afternoon (Eastern Philosophy and Religion). I’m looking forward to both of those classes.

Well, it is getting later. I should probably find myself some dinner. I’m also really wanting to head down to the beach tonight. Spend some time alone on the beach, read my Bible, have a chat with God, and simply be. Sounds good to me.

I’ve caught you up on the entire Trek more or less. If you want stories, email me and ask. I’ll do my best to come up with some for you. I survived. I’m alive. And even better, I’m home.

I’ll update you all later. Maybe I’ll get around to posting some more pictures for you to see.

Leave a Reply

