Home » Study abroad semester in China » Dentist experience number 2

Dentist experience number 2

Hi everyone! So, I’ve got a new story for you all. Yup, it’s all about the dentist. And guess what?! I get to go back, again, next week!

So, I had done well with the temporary filling. It was starting to disintegrate, but that wasn’t a problem. I went back to the office today at 1:30pm. I had a couple of people come along for the experience as well. Janelle came so I wouldn’t be going by myself. Then, Daniel decided to join us. Tim was only going to show us the way there, but since it now “seem[ed] like a party”, he decided to stay. I am so glad that they all came. I would’ve been freaking out otherwise. And having Tim there as the voice of reason (as well as the person that could speak Mandarin) was super helpful and comforting.

Alrighty, so, we got there and sat down at a table in the waiting area. One of the receptionists brought us all some steaming, hot water to drink. Don’t bash it, it’s good and it keeps you warm. I got called into the back room with a bunch of people. One of the assistants spoke some English. She explained to me that since the hole in my tooth was so large, they were going to have to do an inlay. Don’t know what that is? Google is a wonderful thing. I had three options – a 6,000 yuan option, 5,500 yuan option, and a 5,000 yuan option. I definitely only had 2,000 yuan with me. So, I got up and walked out of the room to go talk with Tim, Janelle, and Daniel. Tim ended up coming back to the room with me to ask if I could pay the 2,000 now and bring 3,000 yuan later. That was fine. So, he left to go back and hang out with Janelle and Daniel, while I got to sit back and have 2 to 5 people hovering over my mouth at different points in time.

They gave me a numbing shot (which is still in effect, btw), and then proceeded to drill away at my tooth. Once they finished that, I rinsed out my mouth and they took several different molds of my teeth. Both the top and bottom sets on the left side of my mouth. Then, more putty was stuck into the hole of my tooth. Once that dried, they covered it with some sort of other paste. Another temporary. Great. So, I currently have a new temporary filling in my mouth.

I go back in exactly 1 week for the inlay. So, next Sunday at 1:30pm, I will be back at the dentist office for (hopefully) the last step in fixing this tooth of mine. I have a week to exchange and get the rest of the money that I need.

Just so you can all have a guesstimate of how much this costs.. 5,000 yuan equals about $790 US dollars. Sounds like fun, yeah? No, not really. But hey, as long as this tooth gets fixed.. That’s all I really care about at this point. No more pain. Just pray that this temporary doesn’t pop out before my next visit, yeah? If it comes out before next Sunday, then that’ll be another trip to the dentist for another temporary filling.

tumblr_lyk103ZZme1r84wyio1_1280

Leave a Reply

